Mama Summit 2016

mama_summit_2016_logo_small

This spring, hundreds of moms, dads, grandparents, and kids from across the country will travel to their state capitols to show broad and united support for children’s health. Together in a bipartisan, or MOMpartisan, setting we will demand action to protect the air our children breathe and call for action on climate disruption. Please join us as we tell our state leaders that parents are paying attention to their actions. It’s time we unite for strong policies that protect the health and welfare of our families.

For questions, please contact national field director, Gretchen Dahlkemper at gdahlkemper@momscleanairforce.org

REGISTER

Frequently Asked Questions:

Where are the Mama Summits being held?

Mama Summits are being held in Richmond, VA, Annapolis, MD, Helena, MT, Nashville, TN, Raleigh, NC, Philadelphia, PA, Springfield, IL (additional locations and and dates TBD). The events will take place at the State House.

Can I participate if an event isn’t taking place in my home state?

Yes! Register HERE to join our “Virtual Mama Summit”.

If you are interested in organizing a Mama Summit in your state, contact national field director, Gretchen Dahlkemper.

Where can I find information about each Mama Summit?

Click on the “locations” tab above to find links to each Mama Summit.

Mama Summit isn't just for Moms!

At Moms Clean Air Force we defend the health of our children. Our members include not just moms but also thousands of dads, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and friends. Anyone who believes that our children deserve a healthy and safe future is welcome to join us at a Mama Summit.

How will I get there?

Please visit your state’s Mama Summit page for specific information on transportation. You may also travel solo to your location and limited funding may be available for those in need. Please contact your state’s field leader for more information on specific in-state travel arrangements.

What if I want or need to spend the night before or after Mama Summit?

You are welcome to stay in a hotel either the evening before or after Mama Summit however the activities are limited to one day. There is no funding available for hotels.

Will meals be served?

Meal accommodations differ for each event, contact your state organizer to learn what will be provided at your state’s Mama Summit.

What should I wear?

Please plan to dress in comfortable clothing in accordance with expected weather conditions. Moms Clean Air Force will provide t-shirts for each attendee.

I’ve never visited a legislator before, what should I expect?

Moms Clean Air Force and our partners will provide each attendee with opportunities to attend advocacy training seminars in advance of Mama Summit. These seminars will take place either in person or by phone. You will join other members from your local community in visiting with your local state representatives and senators. No one will work alone and you will be connected with a representative of a partner organization for any questions that you have before, during, and after Mama Summit.

For additional information please contact:

National Field Director: Gretchen Dahlkemper, gdahlkemper@momscleanairforce.org

California: Loni Russell, lrussell@momscleanairforce.org

Illinois: Kelly Nichols, knichols@momscleanairforce.org

Maryland: Trisha Sheehan, tsheehan@momscleanairforce.org

Michigan: Vee Heymach, vee@momscleanairforce.org

New Hampshire: Becky Whitley, rwhitley@momscleanairforce.org

New Jersey: Trisha Sheehan, tsheehan@momscleanairforce.org

New York: Trisha Sheehan, tsheehan@momscleanairforce.org

Ohio: Tracy Sabetta, tsabetta@momscleanairforce.org

Tennessee: Lindsay Pace, lpace@momscleanairforce.org

Virginia: Terra Pascarosa, tpascarosa@momscleanairforce.org

For media inquiries: Anneka Wisker, awisker@momscleanairforce.org

Can’t make it to an on-the-ground event? Please join our Virtual Mama Summit!

TAKE ACTION! Since you won’t be able to physically take your message into the offices of elected officials, we’ve provided an easy way for you to tell your Governor to protect our children’s health by working to make the air in your state as clean as possible:

TELL YOUR GOVERNOR: SUPPORT CLEAN AIR FOR KIDS

Please help promote the event on Twitter:

  • Join me! Please register for a @CleanAirMoms #MamaSummit 2016 http://ow.ly/WCq3L #activism 
  • >> Tweet this <<
  • Tell your Governor: protect our children’s health, clean up our air! http://ow.ly/xlP2v via @CleanAirMoms #MamaSummit 
  • >> Tweet this <<

CLICK HERE for additional social media guidance.

#MamaSummit

 

Highlights from our inaugural Mama Summit:

 

vote_popup