For Shame! Gina McCarthy Nomination Boycotted

BY ON May 9, 2013

Picture of Senator Vitter with the word SHAME at the top.

Republicans on the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee, scheduled to vote today on the nomination of Gina McCarthy as the new head of EPA, boycotted the procedure. That denied the committee the quorum it needed for the EPA nominee vote. This is sheer obstructionism and game-playing. It is inappropriate behavior.

Tell your Senators to support the nomination of Gina McCarthy as EPA Administrator.

McCarthy is a strong nominee; her record and qualifications are well-known and appreciated. She has answered over a thousand questions posed by Senator David Vitter of Louisiana alone, but he led the boycott.

Senator Jim Inhofe of Oklahoma should show leadership. He has publicly stated that Gina McCarthy is a friend, and someone whose work and character he admires.

Moms, here is a list of the Senators who boycotted the hearing of EPA nominee Gina McCarthy:

  • David Vitter, Louisiana, Ranking Member
  • Jim Inhofe, Oklahoma
  • John Barrasso, Wyoming
  • Jeff Sessions, Alabama
  • Mike Crapo, Idaho
  • John Boozman, Arkansas
  • Deb Fischer, Nebraska

Urge your Senators to get back to their seats and do their work. McCarthy deserves a vote. Moms urge her confirmation.

Thanks for your speedy response.

TOPICS: Activism, Clean Air Act, Politics, Pollution